Bloom’s Taxonomy

Bloom’s Taxonomy was created by Benjamin Bloom during the 1950s and is a

way to categorize the levels of reasoning skills required in classroom situations. There are six levels in the taxonomy, each requiring a higher level of abstraction from the students. As a teacher, you should attempt to move students up the taxonomy as they progress in their knowledge. Tests that are written solely to assess knowledge are unfortunately very common. However, to create thinkers as opposed to students who simply recall information, we must incorporate the higher levels into lesson plans and tests (Melissa Kelly.

The six Cognitive Domains to Bloom’s Taxonomy are:

  1. Knowledge
  2. Comprehension
  3. Application
  4. Analysis
  5. Synthesis
  6. Evaluation

The levels are meant to be hierarchal, that it must start at the Knowledge level before progressing to the Comprehension level and so on ( Laurie Patsalides


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s